Vegan Food Nerd

Vegan Pepperoni

1 Comment

20140714_200742As a vegan, I am incredibly thankful for Isa over at theppk.com and her numerous cookbooks. Her recipes are foolproof and super delicious. I have never been disappointed by any of the recipes I have tried! When I saw her halloween recipes last year, I didn’t have time to make any of them for my own halloween party. But, this summer I finally made use of the vegan pepperoni recipe she shared as part of this recipe. Just like the sausage recipe I posted a few days ago, they are simple to make and come together really easily. AND, they remind me of the taste of pepperoni and go great on pizza!

I didn’t take a picture of the pepperoni logs, but once they come out of your steamer simply slice and put on your pizza with the other toppings you like. These went super well with zucchini, onions, green peppers and veggie cheese. In fact, it’s probably one of the more delicious pizzas we’ve made (and it might just be because of the vegan pepperoni addition).

You can find the recipe for vegan pepperoni here, just use the ‘pepperoni eye sockets’ portion of the recipe:

Vegan Pepperoni at theppk.com

Notes:

  • I added about 1/2 tsp of ground fennel to the dough and upped the tomato paste by about a 1/2 tablespoon as well.
  • White or red kidney beans will work in the place of pinto beans, as I rarely have pinto beans on hand.
  • You will have leftover pepperoni logs and they freeze well. Just place in a freezer bag or airtight container and when ready to use thaw fully, slice, and put on your pizza once again.

Enjoy!

One thought on “Vegan Pepperoni

  1. I love Isa! Her books are so great; she is super inspiring 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

